Home > Peru, Travel > Machu Picchu: Hiking Huayna Picchu

Machu Picchu: Hiking Huayna Picchu

This is my first post in a series on my recent trip to Peru. Stay tuned for thoughts on Cusco, the Sacred Valley, Lima, the Amazon, and more.

As of November 2014, this post now lives on my new blog and photography website. For previous comments and discussion, please see below.

  1. September 21, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    what amazing pictures!!!! i want to go here:(

    • October 23, 2012 at 6:35 pm

      Thank you! It’s a spectacular place. If you ever have the chance, go!

  2. September 22, 2012 at 12:14 am

    Wow – what an amazing place. Machi Picchu is on my list for maybe 2014 but I had no idea about Huchuy Picchu. Need to check into that 🙂

  3. Yee
    November 17, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    Fantastic testimonial. Thanks for the photos and description. I’m heading there in a few weeks and this was very helpful. Can you stay up there as long as you’d like (until 1pm) even if you go up in the 7am group?

    • November 17, 2013 at 10:29 pm

      I believe so — don’t hold me to it, but that’s how I remember it.

  4. bkg
    February 27, 2014 at 2:48 pm

    Thank you so much for posting in great detail. When you say that your travel agency got you advanced tickets, was that just to MP or also for the HP hike?

    • February 27, 2014 at 6:06 pm

      Hey there! The travel agency booked both advanced tickets for Machu Picchu AND the Huayna Picchu hike. It was a big relief knowing we had tickets ahead of time.

  5. Eva
    April 9, 2014 at 11:36 pm

    Thanks for your post! We are going to Peru for 3 weeks in July/August and this post was very helpful. I liked being able to see the shots from a more unique perspective – it gave me a better idea of what I’ll be seeing! We are still trying to decide between the 7:00 or 10:00am hike to HP. What month were you there? The 7:00 is supposed to be amazing but I’m worried about the morning fog. Thanks!

    • April 14, 2014 at 8:50 am

      Hey Eva,

      I was there in the month of September and went on the early hike. Fog wasn’t a problem but I may have just gotten lucky. If you’re really worried about it, 10 a.m. might be best just so it isn’t weighing on your mind the entire trip. Hope you have a blast!

  6. Alvin
    April 22, 2014 at 2:07 am

    Great post and info, me and my friends are going to hike Huayna Picchu in this coming 2 more weeks. I have few doubt and I appreciate it if you can answer me.

    I saw you post that you spend 5.1/2 there, is it just Huayan Picchu? Or the whole area Macchu Picchu include the inca ruin? As I see post from others site that they mention normal people will spend less than 3hr up & down of Huayan Picchu.

    And I thought they limit the time you were up there (Huayna Picchu), is like you have to be back before the 10am batch hike up? BTW, I’m going for the first batch witch is 7:00 am

    I’m a bit confuse, so you hike up by WaynaPicchu route on the split and come down from Grand Cavern route? Is that different route or you have to hike back all the way back from the peak and come down from the same route?

    And for HuchuyPicchu (small peak) does it worth the hike? Any nice scenery along the way?

    In your option/experience, do we need glove or hiking stick for the Huayan Picchu hike? And is that better to wear long pant instead of short pant?

    • April 23, 2014 at 8:45 am

      Hey Alvin — we were in the Huayna Picchu area for a solid 5 hours. You’re right that most people will spend 3 hours or less hiking up and back down, but we hiked back using the Grand Cavern trail which took a couple hours.

      From my experience, if you go on the 7 a.m. hike, you don’t have to be down by 10 a.m. You can spend as long as you want inside the Huayna Picchu area until they ask everyone to be out (I can’t remember the time, but it’s in the afternoon).

      You can hike back down the Huayna Picchu trail on your way out OR you can take the Grand Cavern trail (we chose the latter). The Grand Cavern trail is much longer (and not necessarily worth it if you only have a day at Machu Picchu).

      The small peak hike looked beautiful, but we only made it probably halfway until we decided to head back out to the main ruins, so I’m not the best person to give a recommendation on that.

      As for clothing, I suppose it depends mostly on the weather. A hiking stick would be a good idea if you’re at all nervous about the hike.

      • Alvin
        April 24, 2014 at 3:49 am

        Thanks for the response, guess I’m taking the Grand Cavern trail, after-all I might not visit Machu Picchu again in my lifetime, even if I visit again, I might not have the strength and stamina as now 🙂

        If I wanted to visit The Temple of the Moon, Grand Cavern trail is the only way to see it, right?

        And for the attire, I mean is there lots of mosquito or even leech? I don’t want to wear shorts and ended up with lots of scar on my legs.

  1. October 1, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Leave a Reply

