Home > Music, Random > Taking a moment to bash the 52nd Annual Grammy nominations!

Taking a moment to bash the 52nd Annual Grammy nominations!

The Grammy nominations were released today. As usual, they’re a complete joke. Not a ‘ha ha’ joke, but more of a “Do these people even listen to music?” type of a joke.

Without further ado, here are the nominees for Record of the Year: “Halo” by Beyonce, “I Gotta Feeling” by The Black Eyed Peas, “Use Somebody” by Kings of Leon, “Poker Face” by Lady Gaga, and “You Belong with Me” by Taylor Swift.

I’m officially renaming Record of the Year to Most Overplayed Song of the Year. Granted, a few of them are pretty good. But I think the Recording Academy members forgot to turn their radio dial from KISS and Ryan Seacrest’s On-Air (yes, I had to look up the name of his show, whew).

(Left: Seacrest laughing because he has more money than I’ll ever dream of.)

Album of the Year, you ask?

I Am… Sasha Fierce by Beyonce (a few good songs), The E.N.D. by The Black Eyed Peas (two songs worth listening to), The Fame by Lady Gaga (awful after the first four songs, which makes it perfect for iTunes), Big Whiskey and the Groogrux King by Dave Matthews Band (perfectly fine but not Album of the Year material), and Fearless by Taylor Swift (“I’m sorry, but Phoenix had one of the best albums of the year!!”).

Moving on, the Best Solo Rock Vocal Performance category is full of new artists, such as Bob Dylan, John Fogerty, Prince, Bruce Springsteen, and Neil Young. The combined age of those five men? 307 years old.

Nickelback (I just threw up a little bit) was put in the Best Hard Rock Performance category with the likes of AC/DC, Alice in Chains, and Metallica. True story.

There’s 109 categories in 29 fields. I looked through it all a lot of it (I stopped somewhere around Hawaiian Music Album). And the best thing the Recording Academy did was nominate “I’m on a Boat” by The Lonely Island and T-Pain for Best Rap/Sung Collaboration.

I now have a reason to finish this post with “I’m on a Boat” (warning: language, lots of it).

At least the Recording Academy is good for one thing.

Categories: Music, Random
  1. January 1, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    Authentic words, some truthful words man. You made my day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

