Home > Movies > Please don’t mess this up

Please don’t mess this up

Today started like any other day as I crawled out of bed, had some Frosted Flakes, and got on my laptop to check out the same web sites I go to all the time. Over an hour later and I can’t remember how I stumbled over it, but there is apparently a Naked Gun 4 in the works. Even though Leslie Nielsen is over 80-years-old. Even though O.J. Simpson is serving time in Lovelock, Nevada. Even though the last movie in the (best) series (ever) came in 1994.

IMDb has this. This “script review” is from March. And this is from July, but it says Naked Gun 4 is benefitting from a tax credit.

Dear Hollywood, please do not mess up my favorite film series (and three of my favorite movies ever). I want to go to a theater in late 2010 with my dad and brother and laugh as hysterically as I have the other 20 times I’ve watched each movie. I want more lines like these:

It’s fourth and fifteen and you’re looking at a full court press.”

“It’s a topsy-turvy world, and maybe the problems of two people don’t amount to a hill of beans. But this is our hill. And these are our beans!”

“That’s the red light district. I wonder why Savage is hanging around down there.”
“Sex, Frank?”
“Uh, no, not right now, Ed.”

“This is Frank Drebin, Police Squad. Throw down your guns, and come on out with your hands up. Or come on out, then throw down your guns, whichever way you wanna do it. Just remember the two key elements here: one, guns to be thrown down; two, come on out!”

“Dyslexia for cure found.”

“With a mustache, about 6-foot-3.”
“Awfully big mustache.”

Hollywood, I can forgive you for every sequel I’ve paid 10 dollars to see that has been awful — as long as this is done right. Please don’t mess this up.

Categories: Movies Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

